Why use cascamite?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkey Mark

Established Member
Reaction score
This may be a really silly question, sorry. :oops:

I've seen cascamite referred to quite a few times on here. As a newbie I've never come across this. Can anyone tell me what the advantages are over the likes of Titebond? Or is it more a case of it being used for a different purpose/result?

Assuming you mix up just what is needed for your particular job, is it easy enough to mix? How much does a tub usually make up? Any recommended brands?

Thanks in advance from someone eager to learn.

I have never used Titebond so can't compare it. Cascamite is water resistant, we used to use it for model boat building back in the 80s. I was recommended it for laminating to minimise spring back recently and it worked well. I now have rather a lot left so will use it on my current project. Easy to mix, just get the proportions right, mix the powder with water.

EDIT: I use the brand that Axminster have though I got mine from the local indy DIY shop (via eBay, I did BIN then arranged to collect it in their shop having paid using Paypal. I don't know if they stock it normally, suspect they do, at least they'd order it in I'm sure)

Cascamite resin is very good for complicated assembly that needs a lot of adjustment, as you usually have a good hour or so for adjustment. You can also mix it with saw dust and colour it if necessary to do a bit of gap filling...As it is a powder, mixed as needed, it is economical in use. Waterproof for outdoor joinery. cI have used it to laminate a dagger board for a dinghy used in the sea - this was years ago and it is still fine. And it is cheap and readily available. What's not to like (in the right circumstances).

Don't buy big tubs unless you plan to use a lot soon, as I believe it goes off over time after the tub is opened.