Whole house water filter

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

artie

Sawdust manufacturer.
Reaction score
Water quality is quite bad, sometimes downright disgusting, so I've decided to invest in filtration.

As is usual with something I have no previous experience with, the internet is awash with info.

So probably best to start here and ask for some first hand experiences.

I can’t help you much with water softeners in general as it was 20+ years ago when I last had dealings with water softeners and no doubt the technology has moved on . What I can say is if you have a modern condensing boiler you should pay particular attention to how a softener can affect your boiler. If my memory serves me correctly then softened water can be piped to a combi -cold water mains inlet (I’m referring to Worcestershire Bosch ) other makers may advise differently but the system itself should be not be filled with softened water. Provision should be made to be able to fill the system from mains water upstream of the water softener and the usual inhibitors used to protect the heating circuits. Hope this is helpful and not too confusing. There are also inline limescale filters that for £50 or £60 can protect all your taps showers and washing machines etc . If your reference to “ the water is sometimes disgusting “ then a cheaper alternative may be to invest in a specific tap that provides filtered drinking water ( these tho typically req you to change the filter cartridge on a regular basis . Some will also provide water hot enough to make a cuppa direct from the tap itself. Good luck a little research can go a long way and could save you £££££

This company make filtration systems for any purpose; from rucksack to whole village !
Their filters are fine enough to make river-water, or even sewage, Drinkable to UK Government Standards !