White Dye / stain - how to?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fanous

Established Member
Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm new to woodworking, new to the forum, but I've been visiting for a while. Anyway...

I'm finishing my project, glue is drying. Time for a finish is approaching. I've built a pine rack/shelfing unit for glasses for my Mrs. for her kitchen kingdom. I'd like to ask you for help, advice and experience with wood dye / stain to achieve as much white look as possible, and yet keep the wood grain visible to a degree. Doesn't need to be much, just sattled, for the curious eye that pays attention to details... What I don't want, is some sort of wash out white like look, that's looking more like a grey/yellow wood. I also don't want a simple white colour that will completely hide the wood. If that is the case, could of built it out of MDF and no one would know any better (ish). I hope you get the idea from this flimsy description.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Thanks
F.

Paint with White emulsion, sand off when dry to give the appearance you seek, then give it a clear water based varnish.

Rod

gmgmgm":20140im4 said:
How about lime? Look up "liming wood".
That technique only really works to best advantage or visual impact with ring porous woods, also known as coarse textured woods such as oak, ash, elm, and the like. Pine, in common with almost all softwoods doesn't fall into that category they generally being fine(er) textured woods. Slainte.

Staining pine darker can lead to problems with blotching. Would any similar problems occur with staining it white?

As mentioned above, liming, or using a modern work around such as the use of paint is traditionally used on oak as it has an open grain that traps the white substance used to great effect.
I am not sure what it would be like on pine as I have only ever limed oak.