Which Bench/Pillar Drill

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewbieRaf

Established Member
Reaction score
Morning/Afternoon All

I am after a good bench/pillar drill and I am considering the Bosch pbd40 however as per usual me I would like to have something that is a bit more “trade/professional”. Apart from foboco etc on eBay does anyone have any suggestions of models to buy new?

I know this is a big subject :)

Thanks

I brought this recently and although I'm no expert I feel it's good quality.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/124389135965
The nearest I can find new are Sealey drills.

Obviously the big old drills set the standard but if space or access is tight then there are other options.

Cheers James

Thanks James that’s actually looks nice although something a bit smaller in side would be better - - I’m limited on space

The Bosch is fantastic simply because it has electronic speed control - if you're like 95% of us you'll soon get bored of swapping belts and it'll stay on the 'one speed fits all' mode (which it doesn't).

If you're limited on space, you're not doing a ton of heavy duty drilling and you're fairly new to woodwork I think you'll be hard pushed to beat the Bosch (Sounds like an episode of 'Dads Army' haha)

Morning/Afternoon All

I am after a good bench/pillar drill and I am considering the Bosch pbd40 however as per usual me I would like to have something that is a bit more “trade/professional”. Apart from foboco etc on eBay does anyone have any suggestions of models to buy new?

I know this is a big subject :)

Thanks
Ok. I Know you said "Apart from Fobco etc on ebay" but....
Seriously. Be patient. Get one of the Meddings/Fobco second hand. You won't regret it.
If you search you'll find a thread under my name that asked folk to rank them in order of quality.