Which adhesive?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MJP

Established Member
Reaction score
I've got an old wobbly four-legged stool which I've dismantled and cleaned up.

The holes are pretty worn from years of wobbling so I need a glue which will gap-fill and set as slowly as possible since I'm a beginner and there are twelve glued joints and four wedges to set.

I've got Evo-Stik Resin W, Titebond Hide glue (the ready made one in a bottle) and Lumberjack 5 minute PU glue.

Now The PU glue is out, I need more than five minutes to panic when I try to glue this up -
I believe that the hide glue is slower than the resin W so would that be the best option? Would hide glue be strong enough for a stool's heavy use? Or would I be better off buying a two-pack epoxy to use?

Martin.

If you use the PU on joints that aren’t tight they’ll work loose just as quick as you glued it. It’s technically gap filling but it does absolutely nothing for strength as it’s just a weak foam.

Definitely better off with an epoxy for that job.

Yes, that's what I though too - my brief use of PU glue didn't impress me that much.
Looks like a need a nice couple of bottles of epoxy.
Any recommended brand/source?
Martin.

I suspect that probably what's really needed is some repair work to the joints to make them close fitting again prior to reassembly and gluing up. However, for whatever reason you may not have the ability to do this effectively, or perhaps the joints aren't too bad - no idea really from your description. So maybe you could get away with using an adhesive with gap filling capabilities, and you mention epoxy resin, which does have that ability.