Where to find baltic birch plywood?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob Cheetham

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been scrolling for a few years now. Not as much as I like to but I love it when i get time to do it. Im part of a couple scrolling groups on fb and its mostly americans most of the time. Baltic birch seems to be what they use alot of the time.

I bought some of ebay that stated to be baltic birch but I have never been sure wheather this is real baltic birch or not. On really detailed fret work it seems very brittle the stuff ive bought, which is a4 4mm sheets. Ive also heard mayby that its called that over in america but over hear its not.

How can I tell real baltic birch plywood from the fake stuff.

Also if anyone has any suppliers to hand that they use could you please let me know. Would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :D :D

Hi , I am also in the UK (Cornwall) and have often seen mention of Baltic birch plywood

The timber merchants I have dealt with either don't recognise it as a term or don't stock it

When I have found someone who stocks it its an exhorbitent price

For some years I have used what I would term bog standard ply from various places, until the last year I have had no issues with voids, which is often the reason baltic birch is suggested as being better, but the last year has seen my usual suppliers with a very light faced ply which on occasion has had some voids

When you say fake stuff, I think all you need to do is have a good look at the product before you buy, its usually pretty obvious if it has voids or soft layers in the core

These are listed as suppliers of baltic birch but haven't bought any from them myself, I can't afford a second mortgage ;-)

Let us know if you find a supplier and the costs

I just use what I can get

GREAT BRITAIN

Hanson Plywood
DHH Timber
James Latham plc
Meyer Timber