What material for workshop shelving

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bone

Established Member
Reaction score
Just after some advise.

I am planning on building a shelving unit in my workshop. This will be along the lines of a 'shelved wardrobe' for want of a better description.

The planned dimensions are 2'(d) x 3'(w) x 6'(h)

I would normally build this kind of thing (cupboards) out of 18mm MDF but was thinking that this time, since this is going to be in the workshop, and I plan to put fairly heavy items on the shelves, (table saw, SCMS, assorted paint cans, etc etc) would 18mm ply be more suitable.

If ply, would I need shuttering, marine or weatherboard? I have no real experience in plywood. Also what price should I expect to pay for an 8x4 sheet.

Construction will be fairly basic, with the outside box made out of sheet material, glued, biscuited and screwed at the joints. The shelves will be mounted on top of battens screwed to the inside of the carcass at various heights (to allow some degree of adjustment should taller / shorter shelf spaces be required). Would I be better to add (glue and biscuit) a timber piece to the front edge of the shelf to help prevent bowing?

Any advise welcome.

Bone, I am just going through the design stages of workshop furniture and am using 18mm Ply. I chose Ply because I really don't like MDF and it's very heavy. I would not recommend the construction grade Plys. They are generally bad quality and are rarely flat. You will find that they are riddled with voids too. For my projects I am opting for BB grade 18mm Birch ply which I have been quoted nearly £40 a board from Richard Russel. This is quite expensive, B&Q's range of standard birch ply is a little cheaper but not as good quality.

As for your construction method. I can't see any problems with that, should be plenty strong enough.