What are these?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Definitely leather hole punches and the blade is a leather skiving / trimming knife which looks like the handle has been shaped as an edge burnisher.

Hey all,
my friend is sorting out her departed dad's tools and has got down to the box of "I don't knows", does anyone have any insight into what these are?

received_174737954426598

received_854344038752543

These are sharp on the circular tip and also sharp inside apparently, I guess where that bevel changes angle? My only thought was some kind of dowel making tool?

How about this one? I really can't even add anything to help describe it, i've no clue, it could well be a homemade tool for something very specific? Although the price tag indicates that someone saw enough use in it to purchase it...

received_494713231521071
I’m so excited. I’m a complete newbie and I know what the second picture is.

It’s a skew chisel for a lathe, which has been sharpened to a stub and is therefore completely unsellable.

I’m so excited. I’m a complete newbie and I know what the second picture is.

It’s a skew chisel for a lathe, which has been sharpened to a stub and is therefore completely unsellable.

Nope, it's a glass cutter, in fact here is a nearly identical one.

1613204662737.png

Steel hole punches, defiantly steel, look at the tempering colours and traces of rust, the other is a diamond glass cutter thus no axel for a wheel. Have one somewhere in "Dad's & Grandad's tool box" diamond is AWOL tools are never used but they were Grandpa's then Dad's -- treasured memories !

The second tool is a glass cutter, as Rorschach says. The bevelled end would have a diamond mounted in it. I've still got one that belonged to my father.