Walking Stick

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimonStevensCanes

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
After stumbling across Shawn Gillis on instagram and spending hours browsing through his amazing walking sticks, and having hit the ripe old age of 40 recently, I felt inspired to try my hand at making one.

As this is my first attempt I wanted to avoid making any design decisions and focus on how to technically make a walking stick that is straight and won't break. I found and printed a template for the handle, selected some stock and set about cutting it out on the bandsaw. A quick cleanup and heavy round over was all it took to rather well resemble a walking stick handle.

I forget whether I had seen it on @walkingwithwood's posts, or just assumed from seeing similar builds, but either way, I drilled mortices in the handle and the cane stock to accept a brass pin. I also cut a piece of brass sheet for a transition. Epoxying these onto the handle was straight forward.

tempImage3cE9vC.png tempImageTDPV5X.png

Unfortunately my efforts to get the mortice in the can straight were less successful. I had some latitude in the oversized stock, which allowed me to straighten it somewhat when cutting away the excess. In hindsight this has resulted in a different grain pattern than you might expect, and thinking about now that could increase the probability of some warping? We'll see, but food for thought. Anyway, I eventually got the cane fulled glued (epoxied) up.

tempImageqWrJGL.png

I've not used a spoke shave much before this, so I was quite apprehensive about shaping the cane by hand. I shouldn't have worried and in just 30 minutes I had it well shaped and ready for clean up and refining.

tempImage0S2spz.png