Using washing machine motors for workshop machines

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tanglefoot20

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all....
Wondering if anyone has progressed anything using washing machine motors...I’d like to maybe use one for a disc sander and maybe a polisher...I am no electrician but I understand the mechanics...is it possible to use them for these purposes?
If anyone has details regarding wiring etc...I’d be grateful...switching setup also..

Many thanks

Totaly the wrong sort of motor, they are designed and produced for washing machines and often are interfaced via electronic control. I doubt you will want a sanding disc to oscillate like a washing machine or suddenly ramp up to drying speed.

I thought most washing machine motors would be the brush type, if so they wouldn't be worth bothering with even if you could connect it up.

Try looking out for cheap bandsaws, pillar drills, table saws etc. purely for their induction motors - the bonus is that they're already wired up to a NVR switch.

Totaly the wrong sort of motor, they are designed and produced for washing machines and often are interfaced via electronic control. I doubt you will want a sanding disc to oscillate like a washing machine or suddenly ramp up to drying speed.

I've seen them used very successfully by several friends as a cheap, speed controllable alternative to paying for a Induction Motor and VFD, but it did involve a bit of surgery on the motor, or using an Arduino and some breakout boards to control the motor's original circuitry...

AC universal motors have most of the characteristics you'd want In a machine tool motor and for occasional use the brush wear is less of an issue, whilst the more modern DC brushless ones are widely used (in smaller sizes) for power tools, so not sure I'd agree they're entirely unsuitable.