Understanding MDF

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark18PLL

Established Member
Reaction score
Good morning,

I would be grateful of some advice on using mdf to make some furniture pieces, basically i would just like to get some pointers on which types to use and when its most suitable.

They different types i am aware of are
MDF
HDF
MR MDF - I know this is used in areas with higher moisture - bathrooms etc
Valchromat

If you were to make furniture using any of these and wanted it to be decent quality, what would you use. For example i know MR MDF is rated for moisture areas but is it also good for non moisture areas because it is stronger?

Thanks

Mark

I'm not a pro like some on here but I only use MRMDF now. My local supplier stocks Medite which is far better than the fluffy non MR stuff from the sheds. No idea if it is stronger but it cuts far cleaner and is just generally nicer to use and costs just a little more.

There are a few people here that are dissmissive of MDF and that is fine, but used in the correct way and joined correctly it is a great material. Take a look at 10 minute workshop on Youtube if you haven't already. Peter (also on this forum) has done loads of videos of his built in furniture covering almost every aspect of building, joining and finishing.

Of all the different types of fibreboard MDF is used in the vast majority of furniture that is mass produced. The cheaper end of the market uses chipboard, then it is types of fibreboard and then moving up to blockboard and then plywood and then finally solid wood.