Understairs cupboards....first project of this type ever

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newbie_andy

Reaction score
Evening all,

I am conducting my first project of this kind with an understairs unit. It will eventually have three draws and then a 'open' wine race in top right.

I have been playing around in OnShape and mocked this up so far. Not perfect but will give a good guide and will still be measuring as go anyway.

Im thinking from bits i have seen to do draws out of Plywood probably 18mm thick....Unless people feel it would be overkill, just assume will be strongest, and have more meat for the screws(along with glue)??

Also the front will be MDF, with a plywood front to the draw behind it.

Beams i'm thinking of 4x2 (which i believe equates to about 89mmx39mm in timber,) with support for runners being 2x1.

As this is my first project, any advice on materials would be appreciated.
Screenshot 2022-07-26 at 22.03.42.png
Screenshot 2022-07-26 at 22.03.22.png
Screenshot 2022-07-26 at 22.02.56.png

Don't listen to me but I made a drawer unit recently out of 18mm birch and I think the drawer bottoms should have been thinner material as the drawers are quite heavy.
Wait for some proper advice but this should get things rolling anyway 😃

Martin

From the drawings it looks like your drawers are very large and will be very heavy when full. You could put them on castors but if you go for full extension runners they'll have to be very strong expensive ones. I would suggest more drawers on lighter runners would be better. Ideally use 9 mm ply for drawer bases 18 for sides. If you look on freecycle you may get kitchen drawers/ runners for free.