Track saw / Plunge saw advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Speedbird1

Reaction score
I am currently in the market for one of the above (apologies for the various names but I can't seem to work out their actual name)
I am only a hobbyist and the saw will not get much use so the likes of DeWalt et al are not on my radar.
I will require it to be guided by a rail mostly and that's as much as I can offer.
I see there are differences in blade diameter, what are the pros and cons, and is it purely down the depth of material i'll be cutting, or is there more to this facet?
I think the largest I will be cutting is 8x4 sheet maybe 18mm thick? I can't exclude everything else but cannot see it happening either.
Any advice please?
Mike

Maybe you don't need a tracksaw, people have cut sheet goods long before the tracksaw came on the scene. I used a Bosch GKS65 and a length of angle iron for many years before giving in and buying the Makita SP6001, yes it has made things a lot easier and faster but the end result is the same. Sometimes it is better to look at alternative methods that could deliver better results than just buying a cheaper version of another method, ie a tracksaw.

Quick comparison, my Makita has a 165mm blade and is 1300 Watts, my old bosch has a 190mm blade and a 1600 Watt motor.

Last edited:
Maybe you don't need a tracksaw, people have cut sheet goods long before the tracksaw came on the scene. I used a Bosch GKS65 and a length of angle iron for many years before giving in and buying the Makita SP6001, yes it has made things a lot easier and faster but the end result is the same. Sometimes it is better to look at alternative methods that could deliver better results than just buy a cheaper version of another method, ie a tracksaw.