Tongue and Groove plus Glue (plus Dowels!?)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevekane

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, Im making up some oak windows in a sort of rustic style (as befits my skills!) anyway the frame is roughly 25mm x 75/100mm and amounts to Stile and Rail with a glazed centre panel.
Ive cut the Grooves on the Stiles and its my intention to continue the tongue around the ends of the rails, make these joints which are around 12mm deep with glue and have the centre panel loose. But Im wondering if the joints need the additional support of say a couple of dowels?
Im aware that as a self taught amateur I tend to overbuild things and that dowels are not what I would expect to see in this situation, but what do you think?
Ps I know that a mortice and tennon would have been preferable but its been an “evolving design!”
Steve.

I'm trying to interpret what you have described here. I take it that the stiles and top rail are being made from 25 x 75 and the bottom rail out of 25 x 100. You want to hold your glass panel in a groove in all 4 frame members. This will mean you will have to include the panel when assembling the frame where it will be trapped for ever more. Better to turn the grooves into rebates and secure the panel with beadings after installation.
I presume the frame is going into a wall in which case the joints do not need to be of great strength, however for the longer term I would like to see more stability. If you are short of length in your rails for M&T joints you could lengthen them with glued in tenons, ie, mortise the rails as well as the stiles.
I hope this makes sense.
Brian