Third party or DIY crown guards?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kicked Back

Established Member
Reaction score
I recently got an Axminster AT254LTS.

The crown guard is this:

Screenshot 2022-01-31 at 20.28.31.png

I hate it. It's too wide and makes it basically impossible to rip with less than 40mm against the fence using push sticks. The side panels that rise and fall cause inconsistent friction on the wood which leads to less than smooth pushing.

I want a replacement that can also attach to the riving knife, but can only find cheap Axminster ones with reviews that say they fall apart, which I wouldn't want happening over a spinning saw blade...

Is anyone aware of some alternatives or plans/advice on how to make a more suitable replacement?

Thanks

Take this with a pinch of salt, as I am not experienced, but provided you are working a consistent depth, might it just be easier to make a slip on short fence which is about the same height as the work?
Steve Maskery has some articles and youtubes about the slide on fence.
Screenshot-2022-1-31 Safer ripping with a short rip fence on the tablesaw - YouTube.png

I suppose you could add another cleat to get the height right.
various magnetic strips might be the handiest, stuck to the machine somewhere, might be the fanciest way, or melamine and screws.

It appears from a newbies perspective to be a good solution.
For anyone who disagrees, I'm quite up for getting a good scolding, as I said I'm not experienced, so... if you can be bothered. :p

Thanks

Tom

Last edited:
Ive got one of the ones linked above by doug. Its got a 60mm dust port, which is an improvement over the little one on the axi picture. The clear guards are better for visuals though. I like to see it cutting.