Thinking of Planer thicknesser purchase

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hornbeam":dh1ygclw said:
.... In theory you dont have to do this with the sedgewick but if you have been thicknessing say 20mm material and then want to do some surfacing, you still have to wind the sedgewick thicknessed table down to get the dust collection chute in so I dont think the difference is as big a deal.
Ian

Hi Ian, I was wondering if you'd reached a decision.

I estimate that on the Hammer - starting from, say 20mm as in your example - you have to wind it down an extra 50mm.

I do know that some folk have modified their digital dial on the Hammer to take a 'power feed' from a battery drill.

Stu2fly":26jd82h2 said:
Hi everyone,
I’m new to woodworking and have no training so just learning as I go along. I have tended to just find old pallets, take them apart and turn them into shelves etc. I recently bought a P/T but it’s still in its box. I want it to tidy up the rough pallet wood. Fingers crossed it’s not too noisy.
It’s a Scheppach P/T.

Consider buying a metal detector as any metal left in your pallet wood will wreck the knives instantly.
See also the recent thread about poor finish from poor timber. Some of your wood might have to be attacked with a belt sander to avoid tearout.

robgul":3gpnilh9 said:
DBT85":3gpnilh9 said:
robgul":3gpnilh9 said:
Interesting stuff - I've just ordered a cheapo Aldi machine (rebadged Screwwix Titan ?) for £160 - my first foray into planers ..... I may regret it but there's 3 years to find out with the warranty/return policy! Reviews and Youtube videos suggest it's OK for the money, which I'm happy with. Mostly going to be used for recycling pallet wood and scaffold board type material for mainly "rustic" build projects.