Thicknesser Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SandyMat

Reaction score
I've been using my Scroll Saw for about 6 months now and am thoroughly enjoying it. However I've been amazed at the cost of timber. I'm planning to get a thicknesses so that I can use secondhand timber and I've already got some ready to be prepared.

My budget for a thicknesser is fairly low, but I don't want to spend too little and really end up regretting it and having to sell the cheaper one to get one that is good enough.

I'm a hobbyist, but really enjoying this new hobby.

This has just popped up on my ebay feed: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FOX-10-PORTA ... SwikJb0x30

It's a new Fox F22-561 for £200
Is this a good deal?
Is it a good machine?
Does anyone have one and would recommend it or not?

I've also been watching a Perform CC10T on ebay which is secondhand and at present is £160. This looks like an identical machine to the Fox???

Or should I look at combined planer / thicknesser?

New to all of this so any advice welcome!

I suggest using a hand plane for recycling timber, as it would be a pain to have to change knives and set them up again if you hit some
concrete, nails, sand, embedded grit etc
Even if you have other plans in future for a thicknesser, you would want a way of preparing wood to be properly flat in the first place to thickness to,
otherwise you will just be making evenly thicknessed warped boards.
Tom

As above, you want a planer thicknesser rather than just a thicknesser.

You have two options...
1) plane everything true by hand and thickness using a "lunchbox" style thicknesser. Hard work, slow, but will give you lots of practice at a core skill. If you cock up you just have a hand plane blade to sharpen (by that I mean leave a nail in the reclaimed wood for example).