Table Saw Setup! - Cut pieces have a concave bow! - Help!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bp122

Expert at Jibber-Jabber
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm quite new to woodworking but now have a garage space to turn into a workshop.

Bought an Axminster Table Saw (their smallest one) last month.
I thought I had set it up alright.

But When I am cutting ply or mdf on the TS, the edges seem to have a concave bow (up to 1 - 1.2 mm in the middle of the edge) along the length. When i started noticing it, I started to look at the fence when I am pushing the sheet through, the front corner of the sheet edge which is touching the fence moves away from the fence marginally as I am feeding the sheet and then the back edge comes back in contact with it.

I tried to maintain a more constant pressure sideways while cutting, it still happens.

I loosened the fence adjustment screws and tried to adjust it when it was locked in contact with the blade, still have this issue. It is not all the time though, only some times.

After I adjusted the fence screws etc, I checked the distance between the cutting edge tip on the blade and the fence - The near side (front) on the blade is about 0.6-0.8mm to my right than the far (rear) side on the blade - effectively proving that either the fence or the blade (or maybe both) are off parallel. I feel this skewed setup is what is pulling the sheet away from the fence and causing the bow. Am I right to assume this?

How do I correct this?

Is there an obvious bit of setup I am missing here? how else is the best way to setup the fence?

Please help, as I have a few projects coming up.

Best regards
bp122

P.S- I can't access the forum at work, so please forgive my late response(s)