Table saw blades - how much do you pay?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkey Mark

Established Member
Reaction score
As some on here may know, I'm still new to this whole scene and finding my feet.

I've been looking at 10"/250mm table saw blades as mine has seen better days now and the prices vary greatly.
40t, 60t, 80t crosscut, fine cut, negative rake, thin kerf..... The list goes on. What to choose as a selection or get a couple of general purpose ones.
As with most tools, quality will differ and I presume the old adage of 'You get what you pay for' is true with these also. I don't want to buy cheap rubbish but then again I don't make money from this hobby so cant spend too much either.

So, out of curiosity and to get an idea of roughly where to aim for quality/price wise, how much do you normally spend on saw blades? Do you have a preferred brand/retailer or is there something in particular you look for when purchasing?

All comments/help appreciated.

I'm new to table saws too.... Recently picked up a second hand axminster ts-200 and needed some blades. I have a general purpose blade and a fine x-cut. I decided that for such a small saw I don't need a dedicated rip blade as big stuff will be cut on the bandsaw and out through the thicknesser.

I started using some axminster contract blades (about £10ish). However careful I was I couldn't get a smooth cut. I got one Atkinson Walker general purpose blade which cost about £50, and the cut quality was just something else compared to the disposable blades. I then got a fine crosscut blade (64T) from Wealden for about £40 I think. I believe these are actually Atkinson walker blades rebranded. When I asked on the phone they said that some blades are AW and some come from a German supplier.