Stoopid newbie questions on buying wood - can you help me?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OvalJason

Reaction score
Hello all

I'm pleased to find this forum. I've been woodworking for 12 months now and have completed basic projects such as putting in wooden fire surrounds back into my Victorian conversion in London using playwood from B&Q.

I now want to move on to what you might call basic cabinet making - but I'm at a complete loss as to how to progress. Can you help me with my stupid newbie questions? I've looked long and hard on the internet but just can't find the answers? Here we go:

I want to make a basic cabinet which has panels of 400mm x 900mm using a hardwood which I'd like to stain black.

1. Are hardwoods available (affordably) in the dimensions 400 x 900mm or do I need to join narrower widths?

2. If I need to join narrower widths, what type of join should I opt for?

3. Are there engineered (?) woods available in the widths I want.

4. Where's the best place to buy hardwoods in the dimensions I require. I've tried load of online shops but I just can't seem to find a decent place. Most seem to cater for wholesalers or be totally dedicated to hardwood doors and flooring. Where are the timber merchants selling hardwood for woodworkers?

If there is a decent thread or website to get started on learning these issues, please let me know.

Thanks very much - Jason

Hi Jason,
You can buy quite a few different veneered panels ie oak,cherry,ash etc in 1200x2400 sheets, with regards to joining smaller pieces of solid wood together there are quite a few ways to join depending on thicknesses etc.

I would probably go for veneered panels either lipped in solid wood or with the glue on edge banding wich you can stain accordingly.

There are many more experienced folks on here that can expand on this more.

Joe