Stick welding help for a novice, please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phil Russell

Established Member
Reaction score
Many moons ago I was bought an arc welder, stick welder. I am not very good with it but over the years have managed to repair such things as garden tools and simple fabrications with e.g 3mm mild steel where one bit needs welding to another. But yesterday, a process took me ages to get right. I had a piece of 6mm x 25mm mild steel and needed to increase the size at one end by about 3mm at a corner ... say 12mm long on the top edge and 12mm long on the end edge. So, no joining, just adding 3mm to the two edges on a right angle. I found it very difficult to get the weld depth ... the weld tended to flow over the edges to give 3mm where it was not wanted, the flat sides, and was quite thin on the desired top and end edges.
Is there a knack to doing this 'build up' process? I thought of laying my bit of steel flat on something (concrete?) and then running the rod along the edges to allow the weld to flow down and across the exposed edges.. but by then, after much effort I had done what I wanted. I guess that an experience welder would do this in one pass in a couple of minutes ...
I can add that neatness is not important as I simply filed / ground excess weld away to get my desired effect.
Any advice would be welcome in case I need to do it again. I was using 2mm rods.
Thanks for your help.
Cheers, Phil

You need dry rods, any dampness will play havoc and their are special rods for buildup whether for hard coating or not but these are not essential. It all comes down to practice, right current for the rod being used and with thin rods it can be helpful to support the rod nearer the end and not just rely on the holder.