• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Startrite Table saw buying advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

littlejohn

Reaction score
Hi all

I’m a strictly amateur and looking to get a table saw - I want something suitable for furniture making, so I guess I’m prioritising repeatable fine accuracy over bulk work, but I don't really know where to start in finding something suitable. Being on a budget (aren’t we all :) ! ) it seems that looking for older equipment that’s well engineered is the way to go. My workshop is a barn so I’m lucky in that don’t have to worry about space.

There’s a start rite saw I’m interested in, it looks clean and tidy and the seller says that he "can't see model No however Serial No starts with 175, Rating is 1.5Kw and bottom of the plate states that no blade under 170mm is to be fitted"

It looks like a lot of people here have start rite saws and they’re generally well respected, are there things to look out for? Does it sound like it would be a good fit for what Im trying to do? I will have to do a 3 phase to single phase conversion so have to factor that into the cost, but then it looks like I'd have to do that for many decent saw anyway.

Thanks
John

Ttrees

Iroko loco!
Reaction score
Is it the 145 machine, or the 275?
I have a 3 phase 275, which has a 3hp motor on it usually, its got a Chinese VFD hooked up to it, and runs well from a 13a plug.
You say you have the space and see the cost savings of three phase, so I would suggest you get the 275 with 3hp motor.
Why not look for the DS 275 model, which has a sliding table aswell for the same money, since your not opposed to the VFD route.
Tom

sploo

Somewhat extinguished member
Reaction score
The Startrite 175 and 275 are fine saws; indeed they're actually the same thing (the 175 came with a 10" blade and a smaller motor, but it's no problem to swap or replace the motor and/or use different sized blades).