Startrite T/A 145? motor upgrade

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
717
Reaction score
240
Location
Inverness
Please forgive the stupid question, but you have only one, very worn belt doing the driving. Are you sure it’s the motor stalling and not the drive slipping?

My TA 165 will slowly but surely rip 3” deep into beech (2.8mm kerf) , and it has the same motor.
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
Please forgive the stupid question, but you have only one, very worn belt doing the driving. Are you sure it’s the motor stalling and not the drive slipping?

My TA 165 will slowly but surely rip 3” deep into beech (2.8mm kerf) , and it has the same motor.
Not a stupid question at all, should it have 2 belts?, it is a double pulley, I assumed one was a different gearing, but as previously stated I’m way out of my depth here. The belt is crappy yes, it came with a new one. So looks like I should attention the very minor riving knife issue and put motor back on with 2? new belts and check again?
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
Not a stupid question at all, should it have 2 belts?, it is a double pulley, I assumed one was a different gearing, but as previously stated I’m way out of my depth here. The belt is crappy yes, it came with a new one. So looks like I should attention the very minor riving knife issue and put motor back on with 2? new belts and check again?
Checked online, should have 2 belts, ordered, will let everyone know how it goes when they are and saw is re assembled, thanks everyone
 

Distinterior

Established Member
Joined
8 Mar 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
402
Location
Colchester, Essex.
......The riving knife is a touch out on one side so I’ll take it to be machined down......

Marty,
Don't machine the riving knife!!!.....If it's not aligned correctly, just adjust its mounting bolts until it is aligned. But make sure that you have the correct thickness blade on the saw first.

The accepted method of judging the thickness of the riving knife is, it should be a bit thinner than the Kerf ( the width of the cut the saw blade makes), but thicker than the body the saw blade is made from.

Edit.
I just looked up the specification for that blade you posted you had purchased....It states a kerf of 2.4mm and a body of 1.6mm, so in theory, you need to measure the thickness of your riving knife and it should be about 2.0mm thick.....
 
Last edited:

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
717
Reaction score
240
Location
Inverness
Checked online, should have 2 belts, ordered, will let everyone know how it goes when they are and saw is re assembled, thanks everyone
Yes, two identical belts. It might be worth a test with the new one you have, to see if it makes a difference in the meantime.
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
Marty,
Don't machine the riving knife!!!.....If it's not aligned correctly, just adjust its mounting bolts until it is aligned. But make sure that you have the correct thickness blade on the saw first.

The accepted method of judging the thickness of the riving knife is, it should be a bit thinner than the Kerf ( the width of the cut the saw blade makes), but thicker than the body the saw blade is made from.

Edit.
I just looked up the specification for that blade you posted you had purchased....It states a kerf of 2.4mm and a body of 1.6mm, so in theory, you need to measure the thickness of your riving knife and it should be about 2.0mm thick.....
Hi thanks for the heads up, I wasn’t referring to the shape, I’m becoming somewhat anal about the moving of the riving knife I’ve had it on and off more times that I can guess, trying to get it right. I was looking at taking a tiny amount off the inside surface so it moved over a fraction. Anyway a quick blast on the belt sander with some 80 grit has it perfect. In hindsight I should have got a wider kerf blade, I was working on the theory that a thinner blade was less effort for the motor.
 

Orlandonz

New member
Joined
19 Nov 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Sussex
AC motors have a lifetime. Yours is apparently 8 yrs old. Past overheating and even long normal use can cause breakdown of the insulation in the windings. You can’t see it but it sounds as if you are experiencing the results. Maybe taking it to a rewind specialist for a check could dave you a lot of time.
 

JimmyStartrite

Established Member
Joined
24 Jul 2019
Messages
44
Reaction score
15
Location
Dudley
Those motors were made special for Startrite and there is no direct upgrade, although I do believe BC split into 2 companies, 1 of them I think can supply old imperial motors but they are not cheap and as someone mentioned you may have to drill the mounting flange

Usually on 1ph machines the cap bags out and it maybe throwing just enough juice out to start the motor.
I've seen machines break down because the wrong size blade was fitted (usually too big) and the increased momentum and inertia has eventually disintegrated the bearings.
 

Orlandonz

New member
Joined
19 Nov 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Sussex
8 years old...? More like 45 years old !
Oh, in that case it really is winding breakdown. It superficially looks ok until you get to the middle of the windings but then they are blackened etc. It will run fine until you put a load on, then ……..
I speak from experience, the motor on my Inca- Startrite was just like that until rewound. My rewind guy has retired, alas.
But, of course,I could be wrong.
 

Alasdair

Established Member
Joined
8 Jan 2022
Messages
223
Reaction score
57
Location
inverness
Just wondering if the motor has brushes and there not contacting properly. If they are worn or poor then you may not be getting the current needed when under load.
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
No brushes on this one - it’s an induction motor.
Hi sorry to trouble you again, do you remember the belt size you put on. The 2 replacements I ordered from machine spares seem way out, you’d need to be Arnold Schwarzenegger to get them on an no way would the motor move them. They are z22 10x560, which I just added from their spares list for a 145/165. I have just noticed z580 scratch onto the saw by the belt. Any help appreciated.
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
Hi sorry to trouble you again, do you remember the belt size you put on. The 2 replacements I ordered from machine spares seem way out, you’d need to be Arnold Schwarzenegger to get them on an no way would the motor move them. They are z22 10x560, which I just added from their spares list for a 145/165. I have just noticed z580 scratch onto the saw by the belt. Any help appreciated.
Scratch that, spoken the guys at machine spares, legends, minor stores issue, correct size coming out in the post
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
Have you slackened the fixings that give you the motor & belt tension adjustability...?
Yes got there eventually, I was going about it the wrong way, quite a good simple system really, if you read the manual of course😬…Paul at machine spares was very helpful, final checks tonight and will report back how it all goes
 

Distinterior

Established Member
Joined
8 Mar 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
402
Location
Colchester, Essex.
Yes got there eventually, I was going about it the wrong way, quite a good simple system really, if you read the manual of course😬…Paul at machine spares was very helpful, final checks tonight and will report back how it all goes

Yes,...The motor mounting plate is offset from the centre of the motor arbor....Rotating the motor on its mount, tightens or slackens the belt tension.
 

2121marty

Established Member
Joined
6 Feb 2022
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Location
Herefordshire
Update, re assembled tonight and tested, cuts like a dream, where i thought it stalled before it was clearly just slipping on the belt. A big thank you to all who helped and commented…no new motor needed, just 2 new belts, nice to keep it original, saved a fortune…and learnt a lot.👍👍👍
 
Top