Startrite 352s grinding

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hopeful

Reaction score
Hi all I’m new to big machines I have a start rite 352s and looking for advice it makes a rubbing sound as the wheels spin I’ve tried taking it all apart (stupid) and put it back as it was cleaned ready to go but it still rubs I’m learning as I I go like most when you watch videos on setting up the wheels seen to spin so freely and easy Iv moved guides etc out of the way 🤔 still seems to rub by the way it is in use and cuts no problem I haven’t changed the blade since Iv had it but it will be a job for this week any advice on this machine or bandsaws in general would be appreciated

also would this machine be capable of cutting logs I’m based in Hemel and there is a turning club here I’m sure there is a few people there that would no 🧐

Eliminate the basic stuff first:

From your description I had a similar noise from my 352.

Turn off the juice and open the door. Look at the lower wheel; at about 11 o'clock on the rim you should see a small brass wire brush about the size of a match-box on an adjustable bracket. it's intended to rub loosely on the surface of the lower wheel as it rotates an remove loose sawdust.
In time I found that mine got some dust in the brush that got compacted and glazed over, resulting in an audible noise. You need to unbolt it and dig the schatzen-schizen out. Reassemble so that it is a loose contact fit - it shouldn't be jammed up tight.
If the wires are worn out or damaged, get a new one....... without it the rubber tyre on the wheel will get damaged by compacted sawdust.

While you're in there, loosen the blade, take it out and make sure that there's nothing wrong mechanically......
There's not much else to go wrong on this saw - assuming that your blade, guides and its tracking is OK.

Good luck