• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Startrite 310 - Can it run single phase?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

frazer

New member
Joined
23 May 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Threlkeld
Hi there folks

Looking at a Startrite 310 planer/thicknesser on marketplace. Seller says it's 3 phase. Looking around online there's single phase one's being talked about...question is did they make two types?(single and 3) or can I run this machine on single?

Feel like I already know this answer after looking at union graduate lathes and the carry on with converting but thought it worth an ask.

Cheers all
 

Myfordman

AKA 9Fingers
Joined
19 Jan 2013
Messages
2,331
Reaction score
133
Location
Southampton area
Both types would have been made. You are looking at work and £s to convert. Could be more complex than a lathe as there could well be two motors.
Read my paper about running 3 phase motors from single phase supplies
 

JimmyStartrite

Established Member
Joined
24 Jul 2019
Messages
20
Reaction score
5
Location
Dudley
Startrite originally offered their machines in both 1ph & 3ph, they even sold a few machines in 110v for site work, 3ph is better but a luxury for some, 1ph motors are expensive, as are inverters and you cannot wire a 3ph motor to run on 240v, not in England anyway, also a lot of Startrite machines had imperial motors on, you may struggle to find a modern equivalent or close.
 

AFFF

Established Member
Joined
16 Apr 2020
Messages
66
Reaction score
53
Location
Malmesbury
Such a shame we don't have 3 phase supply to domestic properties in the UK. One of my customers has a house in France, he says that most properties are wired up for 3 phase. Well, at least we got 240v AC. Unlike our American friends who are only allowed to play with 110v
 

Spectric

Established Member
Joined
19 Feb 2015
Messages
1,254
Reaction score
496
Location
North Cumbria
Such a shame we don't have 3 phase supply to domestic properties in the UK.
It is a possibility that this may change as electric vehicles take over because these fast chargers require 3 phase, otherwise you have a slow charge and long wait.

and you cannot wire a 3ph motor to run on 240v, not in England anyway
You can use either an invertor to produce three phase from single upto about 3Kw, gives variable speed but motor torque peaks at 50Hz and can only run a single load or you could use a digital phase converter which allows you to use larger power motors at 400Vac three phase, no variable speed but can run more than one load.
 

Fergie 307

Established Member
Joined
28 Dec 2019
Messages
183
Reaction score
94
Location
Sandy Bedfordshire
3 phase much smoother. Just ask what the rating of the motor is and whether it is dual voltage, ie can be configured for 415 or 240v 3 phase, if it's reasonably modern it probably can. The motor plate will give all the information you need. Then see how much a suitable vfd will cost, and factor that in. You often find that smaller 3 phase machines can go quite cheap, just because people are put off by the 3 phase, but it's really easy to set up a vfd. You will probably end up paying a fair bit more for a single phase, if you can find one.
 

Sandyn

Established Member
Joined
19 Jul 2020
Messages
695
Reaction score
496
Location
Scotland
Such a shame we don't have 3 phase supply to domestic properties in the UK.
My house has three phase, but I haven't bothered putting it in my workshop. I only have one three phase unit and a VFD was easier and cheaper.
 
Top