Splitting timber

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mono11

Reaction score
A bit of information and help if you could:-

Why is my Timmber splitting - see photos

A bit of a long story short is a ordered 50 Sleepers which arrived and being hard to get down here( S.E.) i waited a couple of weeks for delievry but 75% were fresh out of the treatment tank and were showing upto 68% moisture in most. Unpertubered and eager as its my own project ( strictly DIY and Gardener by trade ) i tried to pick the driest first and cracked on.

Over the last few days and as you can see , some of the timbers are now showing some heavy splitting and as this is not a "Rustic" job im now more than likely going to relace them because looking at them for too long, hurts my brain ( slight OCD ).

What am i not taking into account so i dont make the same mistake, is it wet wood drying too fast? it has been very hot and its south facing.

Thanks in advance, any advice is most welcome
20210603_183711.jpg

20210603_183717.jpg
20210603_183657.jpg

(The timber screws showing are not in the permanent postion before you wince)

Thanks again

Mono

All wood moves and to varying degrees it also splits, but this is really poor and I would demand a refund as they are not fit for purpose. Then make sure you buy better quality sleepers but be warned that there is a timber shortage so you may have to wait. I would also plumb for new, untreated, air dried oak sleepers.

those softwood boards are cut from either side of the heart, or include the heart -a tree probably only yields 2 of these boards -so thats where they are cut from

the greatest timber shrinkage is tangentially -ie if you look at the end of a board, the greatest shrinkage follows around the growth ring