Spindle Moulder Tooling - Single Knife?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaptainBarnacles

Established Member
Reaction score
I have just purchased my first spindle moulder, a second hand Kity 1629, and it arrived with a load of tooling and knives. I have sorted through them all and there are dozens of knives which have no matching knife, ie not a pair. I am not about to mount a single knife in a block and spin it up but does anyone know if it can, or should, be done? Can you fit a balancing piece in the other half of the block to stop any wobble or is it the case that in a heavy steel block the imbalance isn't significant?

The moulder scares me a little (read, scares me a lot!) as I have never used one before and it seems to have great potential for limb removal so I am not going to attempt anything that isn't safe but I just wondered why anyone would hang on to all these single knives if they were of no use.

Shouldn't be done (of course) but it was normal (in the bad old days) to balance a single cutting blade against one as near as you could get.
Finger removal avoided by ALWAYS using two longish push-sticks and all possible guarding, better still a power feed.
Eye ball protection - goggles and guarding.
Good thing to be over cautious. If you are not sure then first cuts best practiced with a small cutter on the corner of a large timber say a bit of 9x3 joist off-cut. Less danger of flying bits!

CaptainBarnacles":nrptxr2l said:
Can you fit a balancing piece in the other half of the block to stop any wobble or is it the case that in a heavy steel block the imbalance isn't significant?