Quantcast

Spindle moulder (Now a gloat)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

mailee

Established Member
Joined
26 Jun 2005
Messages
5,502
Reaction score
0
Location
grimsby Humberside
I am going to look at a spindle moulder tomorrow. It is the Startrite T30 240 volt. can anyone tell me how good a machine these are? I think it has a 1 1/4" spindle how available are the tooling for these? At the moment I have the small Kity machine and it is a bit too hobby for me having a small table and no sliding carriage. Any info appreciated.
 

Stormer1940

Established Member
Joined
11 Feb 2012
Messages
465
Reaction score
0
Location
Devon
Don't now much about the machine but Startrite is a good make and 1 1/4 blocks are quite common on ebay or get a larger bore and use top hats....
Spare parts for Startrite machines you can speak to ALT SAWS http://www.altsawsandspares.co.uk/
 

johnf

Established Member
Joined
16 Jul 2008
Messages
578
Reaction score
0
Location
Sunny Sussex
3o mm seems to be the the norm for spindles these days you will have more choice of tooling

reducers are available from 1 1/4 to 30 mm though
 

lincs1963

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2011
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Location
Lincolnshire
johnf":2aeh5xrq said:
3o mm seems to be the the norm for spindles these days you will have more choice of tooling

reducers are available from 1 1/4 to 30 mm though

Er no. 1 1/4" is bigger than 30mm so you cannot fit a 30mm block to a 1 1/4 spindle! I will stand to be corrected if I am misunderstanding though.
cheers, Neil.
 

gardenshed

Established Member
Joined
20 Mar 2005
Messages
276
Reaction score
0
Location
Lincs
As mentioned above, if you've got 30mm tooling your stuffed if you want to use it on 11/4" shafts, unless you want to rebore, but it's not without issues. If the machinists gets it slightly out, then it's.................................. :shock:
 

johnf

Established Member
Joined
16 Jul 2008
Messages
578
Reaction score
0
Location
Sunny Sussex
lincs1963":26qlle7q said:
johnf":26qlle7q said:
3o mm seems to be the the norm for spindles these days you will have more choice of tooling

reducers are available from 1 1/4 to 30 mm though

Er no. 1 1/4" is bigger than 30mm so you cannot fit a 30mm block to a 1 1/4 spindle! I will stand to be corrected if I am misunderstanding though.
cheers, Neil.
Sorry got that wrong
 

mailee

Established Member
Joined
26 Jun 2005
Messages
5,502
Reaction score
0
Location
grimsby Humberside
Thanks for the info guys. I bought it today and got it home. I will need a block as there is no tooling with it.

It all works well but there is a couple of bolts missing that hold down the dust chute/fence. I wonder if anyone could tell me what size of bolts and thread I need for this?

It hasn't been used for a while and just needs a good greasing and clean. I assume I can use the euro block cutters from my Kity which are to fit the 30mm euro block?
Got to thank 'Craig' the cabinet maker who sold me it as he gave me a tour of his shop, a coffee and a good chat for most of the afternoon. He isn't on any of the forums but specialises in Bespoke kitchens mainly, a great guy. Best of all it only cost me £395! a good deal I thought. :D
 

lincs1963

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2011
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Location
Lincolnshire
Hi Alan the bolts that you are missing are about 10" long with a plastic knob on the end of them for tightening them up. I its any help i can take a picture of mine tomorrow and text them to you. Once you have seen them you should be able to make a couple out of threaded rod . I seem to think mine are M10 but it could be M8 I'll check for you in the morning.
Regards, Neil.
 

mailee

Established Member
Joined
26 Jun 2005
Messages
5,502
Reaction score
0
Location
grimsby Humberside
Thanks Neil, much appreciated. i wasn't sure if the threads were indeed metric or imperial. they must be M10 as an M8 just falls through the hole.
 

mailee

Established Member
Joined
26 Jun 2005
Messages
5,502
Reaction score
0
Location
grimsby Humberside
Well it's not a metric thread. I had a length of M10 threaded rod and although it screws into it it is slightly loose, so it must be an Imperial thread maybe Whitworth? No Stormer it wasn't on E-bay, although there were two on there without the sliding table. It was advertised on Gumtree.
 

Latest posts

Top