small steps,

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodfarmer

Established Member
Reaction score
Today I used my woodturning lathe, second time in over five years,, but I am getting the desire to turn again after my heart attack stopped it. The item is of no consequence, just a bung for a plant pot. Actually starting the lathe and holding a couple of gouges brought back memories although today they were somewhat clumsy. Hope to make a screw chuck and then make some fruit. No more big bowls, so what to do with the 60cm square by 100mm thick yew blanks I have ??? If anyone can collect them they are welcome to them.

Attachments

• P1030787.JPG
    P1030787.JPG
    157.3 KB · Views: 24
Hi Woodfarmer,
I am a relative novice, and first-time poster having lurked around this forum for 6 months or so. But glad to hear you've been lured back to turning.
I have just upgraded from an Axminster hobby lathe to an older Swivel head Nova, with the intention of trying some larger bowls/platters, perhaps filled with some turned fruit - one day!
Where abouts would collection be for your Yew blanks? I'm Kent/SE London borders.

Today I used my woodturning lathe, second time in over five years,, but I am getting the desire to turn again after my heart attack stopped it. The item is of no consequence, just a bung for a plant pot. Actually starting the lathe and holding a couple of gouges brought back memories although today they were somewhat clumsy. Hope to make a screw chuck and then make some fruit. No more big bowls, so what to do with the 60cm square by 100mm thick yew blanks I have ??? If anyone can collect them they are welcome to them.

Glad to hear you're getting the desire to turn again.

If I was going down to my sisters place in La Rochelle this summer I'd pop over.

Hang on to your blanks - you'll suddenly feel the urge again!