Small Claims Court

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr T

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

Today I had a debtor go into liquidation owing me £1200. I assume I can kiss good bye to it now!

I am now wondering if there was anything I could have done to get the money earlier. I obtained a warrant frtom the small claims court and one of their bailiffs visited the debtor (a gallery that had sold some of my stuff), who agrreed to pay £250 per month. He paid the first £250 then another £200 then went bankrupt.

What seemed strange to me was that the installment arrangement was made between the bailiff and debtor with no reference to me.

This is the first time I have had a bad payer in 20 yrs business, so I am a novice in this. Does anyone know if I could have done anything different and is this the normal procedure for the small claims court? It seems rather ineffectual.

Chris

Sorry to haer about this Chris, its a real bummer.

Yes, you can kiss the money goodbye if the company has gone into liquidation. The chances of there being anything left after preferential creditors and the insolvency practinioner have been paid are normally nil.

I doubt that there was anything more you could have done within the framework of the law. It doesn't matter how many court orders or payment agreements you have; if a debtor goes bust on you that's that.

Best to put it down to experience and don't let the situation happen again. If a gallery had sold work of mine (an unlikely thing :lol:) and wouldn't pay me what I was owed I would just go round and take some goods in lieu.

Being 6'2" and 16 stone helps in situation like this, though!

Cheers
Dan

Sorry to hear about your situation.