Skirting board - tools and tips?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vormulac

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

As the only bloke in our circle of friends of a practical nature, I tend to get loaned out to the various wives to sort out their diy (stop sniggering at the back!). I have been called upon to install some skirting board this coming Friday, but that's one thing I've never done before, so can anyone give me any hints and tips on doing it? It's a Victorian house and it appears that the plaster only went down as far as the top of the old skirting, so I guess I'll have to fill in with something in order to make the new stuff plumb, and I very much doubt any of the corners are going to be 90 degrees.
This angle thing brings me to my next question, can anyone recommend a device/method to getting the required angle from the corner, and a suitable saw for cutting it. Having just moved house myself I really shouldn't be looking at spending any more money, but it might be an excuse to get a SCMS if people think that is really the best tool for the job.

Any and all thoughts very gratefully recieved!

V.

Vormulac":uxanjcz2 said:
Hi guys,

As the only bloke in our circle of friends of a practical nature, I tend to get loaned out to the various wives to sort out their diy (stop sniggering at the back!). I have been called upon to install some skirting board this coming Friday, but that's one thing I've never done before, so can anyone give me any hints and tips on doing it? It's a Victorian house and it appears that the plaster only went down as far as the top of the old skirting, so I guess I'll have to fill in with something in order to make the new stuff plumb, and I very much doubt any of the corners are going to be 90 degrees.