SIP 16 inch Pro Bandsaw blade help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedArcher1968

Reaction score
Hi

I’m new to woodworking and have a SIP 16 inch Bandsaw. I’m looking for a narrower blade to practice some curve cuts. The online instructions has a range from 6mm - 37mm. The instructions included state 10mm - 25mm (However the front cover says SIP 16 inch Pro but the last page ref SIP 14 inch Pro). The sticker on the machine says 9.5mm - 24 or 25mm.
I have contacted SIP’s technical department who I’m guessing read from the online manual 6mm - 37mm?

If you use/own a SIP 16 inch which minimum blade size have you used.

Hope it makes sense

Regards
RedArcher68

You could try Ian at Tuffsaws he’ll recommend what he thinks is the smallest blade from experience but give you the option to exchange if it doesn’t work for you, can’t say fairer that that.

The minimum blade width is mainly influenced by the guides, can the rear guide be brought close to the rear of the blade whilst the side guides support the blade but behind the teeth, if that makes sense? So you can get a rough idea using a strip of cardboard.

One way of using very narrow blades on any bandsaw is to replace the side guides with some hard wood, easier on some bandsaws than others. That way if the teeth do touch the guide they just cut through it.

It kind of depends on the guides on the saw as said above. If you can not adjust it so the teeth are in front of the side guides then you will wreck the blade. I have used a 3/16'' blade by taking the side guides off to do bandsaw boxes. I just had to be careful and not put too much sideways flex on the blade. There are special small blade guides but I am not sure if they fit all saws.
Finesse Your Bandsaw Into a Scrollsaw