Shortening a door

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Needham

Established Member
Reaction score
Grateful for tips on shortening a door using a manual plane. Planing the bottom edge of a door is easy enough when planing with the grain on the bottom rail, but what‘s the best way to plane the end of the side rails where you need to plane across the grain which risks damaging these ends please? Thanks

I am not an expert but I normally mark the door and plane in from each side then plane the the middle section. If I remember correctly from my school wood work days the plane has to be razor sharp for cross grain. If theres a lot to take off then I use a hand held circular saw with guide clamped to door.

Yes, a sharp plane for across the grain is a must, thanks. Myfordman - I plane the way you advise but have today chipped a bit off so wondered if there’s a more fail safe way. Maybe it’s aimply a case of practice makes perfect....

just one more thing - does using a bench or block plane make any difference I wonder. This has just occurred to me 😬🙈

Yes, a sharp plane for across the grain is a must, thanks. Myfordman - I plane the way you advise but have today chipped a bit off so wondered if there’s a more fail safe way. Maybe it’s aimply a case of practice makes perfect....

just one more thing - does using a bench or block plane make any difference I wonder. This has just occurred to me 😬🙈
Bench plane 5 or 5 1/2, in from each end as 9Fingers says.
Block plane is just for trimmings e.g. ends of through tenons, or taking off arrisses, or bevels when door fitting

By how much is the key to the answer along with type of door.
If a parallel cut at say 5mm or more use a cutting gauge (or "knife" filed marking gauge) to give you a line to work up to.