Shooting board doesn’t work properly.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have made a couple of shooting boards from instructions on YouTube but instead of a satisfying swoosh it results in an unsatisfying thunk on all but the thinnest wood. The plane is very sharp and works perfectly in “normal” use. Any ideas as to what might be going wrong?

Some photos of your boards may help people diagnose. I’m a shooting board novice but have found them to be finicky to set up, with larger timber needing a super fine cut set on the plane and the timber advanced only fractionally past the fence.

Rubbing the end grain with alcohol helps softening the fibers. For me the thicker the wood, the more problematic is to get good results with shooting board. I am currently shooting 50 mm boards and it is hard to get acceptable results. But reducing the depth of cut also helps not hitting the wood instead of cutting it.

Also I tighten more the cap screw, because if it is loose it may throw off lateral adjustment when you take a heavier cut during shooting

Last edited:
Sounds like you might be trying to take off too much in a single pass.
The blade must be very sharp for nice results.
A proper shooting plane has a skew blade which will help and might be why those youtube guys get such nice smooth swoosh noises as they cut.
Don't know what design of board you have made but if you add a slope to the bed it mimics the shear action of a scew blade a bit.
There is a certain knack to it as well, it is important to keep the nose of the plane "down" or more correctly in towards the board, as gravity is not helping the front can try and jump away from the cut.

Ollie

Photos of the shooting board and the wood that is being worked will help greatly.
Not all wood works nicely.

Bod