Sheppach TS 4010

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HAMMERHEAD

Reaction score
Hi. Im new to all this and just trying to build up some equipment as a hobbist/diyer...
is it possible to convert the ts4010 from 3 phase to single phase? Is there much involved or is it cost effective etc? Any advice or links would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance everyone.
Regards.

Hello
I wouldn't say there is much involved to convert a dual voltage motor (provided you see 240v on the motor nameplate)
and very very cost effective to go the VFD/inverter route for something that's say 3hp.
The cost goes up when approaching 5hp rated VFD's/inverters.

There are different HP motors on those machines from what I've seen,
4 and 5 hp motors which maybe a bit oversized for the machine, (have no knowledge about how hefty the components are which motor has to drive)

My Startrite 275 has a 3hp/2.2kw motor and is about the max for my 13a household plug.
If you have the same supply then you need to at least look into VFDs and make sure you get one which can de-rate the HP/KW
and on top of that, need to ask whether a derated motor draws equal juice as say a 3hp machine would,
and also whether the cheapie VFD/inverters can do this reliably.

Say the machine has a 5hp motor, and you have 16a "commando" blue sockets installed,
then less complicated affair.

I can derate motors with my 3hp rated "huanyang" drive, and have done so testing a 2hp motor
but whether that was achieved or not, I have no idea whether it worked, probably could find that out now with me new smart meter which the leccy company fitted recently nationwide.

I presume you need to match the original HP of the motor with appropriately rated VFD if you want to derate to 3hp.
Some companies like Hitachi reckon you should have an oversize drive anyway.