Scroll Saw Novice - Help Needed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LCROX

Reaction score
Hi All,

I’m a complete newbie and recently acquired a workzone scroll, which I believe is the most basic model. Reading recommendations I purchased the Hegner clamps and Pegasus pinless blades.
Whilst this has definitely made it easier I’m still struggling a little and feel like I’m having to push the wood towards the blade and the vibrations are not making it easy to cut in a straight line. My question is, would you suggest this could be down to the scroll saw or potential user error? I’m very tempted to buy a 2nd hand Hegner but don't necessarily want to spend approx £300 on a saw that isn't going to make a difference.
Any recommendations, ideas etc most welcome

Hi , I think the saying " Buy cheap Buy twice " comes to mind here
Some people who shown an interest in scroll saws do what you have
If you are in it for the long run buy a Hegner they have a good reputation and when / If you decide
to sell it on it will hold it's value , Take your time finding one local to you , Go and see / try the machine
Variable speed is nice , Hope you find one soon

More expert advice will be along soon.

Not familiar with a Workzone. If it uses Hegner clamps then spares are available.
Who manufactures and who supplies?
Did you buy new?

To start off - Bolt the saw down on something substantial and heavy, helps to control the vibration.
Axminister supplies blades and price was reasonable.
Do not push the wood into the blade, let the blade do the cutting and don't rush (my finger slipped right into a #12 blade, fortunately did not hit bone but was a bloody mess)
Practise cutting anything on thin wood to get the feeling of the saw and cutting speed, then try some 90degree turns and 180degrees.
There is a dung-load of free patterns on the web.