Quantcast

Sawblades - CMT vs Freud ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Dr. Thrax

Established Member
Reaction score
I read with interest on an Internet page that at a football match a couple of years ago, a Freud 10" sawblade had been used during the match as a vicious projectile, fortunately no-one was injured, so it's safe to assume Freud blades are the preferred favourite of football hooligans but how about woodworkers, anyone have any views about CMT or Freud blades ?

Noel

Staff member
Reaction score
I've CMT and Freud, used for woodworking......no complaints, both brands excellent. Although I've more Freuds than CMTs simply 'cause there're easier to find and I like the red Teflon coating although no tangible advantage, performance wise.

Noel

Philly

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been using a Frued for the last 4 months-a fantastic blade! Well worth the money.
Hope this is of help
Philly :D

jasonB

Established Member
Reaction score
I've got 4 CMT's of differing Teeth/grind and am very pleased with them (and their router bits) not tried a Frued.

Can't see much point in the teflon as the only bit that comes into contact with the wood is the TCT tips, then again I don't cut a lot of resinous softwood.

Jason

ike

Established Member
Reaction score
The Teflon helps in removing resin buildup but otherwise makes little difference. Incidentally I have found that the Screwfix resin cleaner happily removes the Teflon coating as well!, as I found out too late on some of my router cutters. :cry:

Ike

Mcluma

Established Member
Reaction score
I Upgraded my dewalt SCMS with a CMT blade and I was very happy with it before somebody borrowed it long term without my permission,

I also have quite a number of CMT router bits, which are also very good/better if you compare them to the Trend bits

McLuma

Jake

Established Member
Reaction score