Sanding Scaffold boards

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geoff Hammond

Reaction score
I make shelving and furniture from reclaimed scaffold boards (Ok I know I am not a proper woodworker) :shock:

I give them a good sanding with a heavy Makita belt sander then finish edges off with an orbital sander.

I am however getting on a bit and the Makita is a big tool for me to throw about all day

I am looking at other ways of making the product a bit easier and was looking at the Axi 260SPT Spiral planer with the tungsten cutters. Obvious concerns would be if I miss some screws and nails and rip some of the cutters to bits. Also not sure if the planer would be as flexible as using a belt sander

I was also thinking of a drum sander

Any advise appreciated

I wouldn't go near a used scaffold board with an edge tool.......ever. The grit left from workman's boots, angle grinder detritus, being chucked down onto hardcore & rubble....and so on. Besides, if used scaffold boards have any charm it is the battered look, and shoving the whole thing through a planer is going to A/ wreck blades at a frightening rate and B/ turn out too-clean boring-looking bits of low-grade timber.

'twere it me I would be looking at sand blasting.

If I am cleaning up something like scaffold boards I use a Festool RO 150 sander. It has a random orbit mode but also a geared mode which can eat through timber quite quickly. If you put a soft pad on it follows the shape of the wood while sanding so you don't get the flat/new looking areas like with a plane or belt sander.

Not really sure if it's easier to handle then a belt sander but might give a uniform look quicker while keeping some character.

The Festool version is good but not cheap, think Makita and Metabo do an equivalent cheaper.