Rowney Purified Linseed Oil... What have I gone and done?!?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krome10

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a complete novice - as you're about to find out!

I have a blessing and a curse. Usually I research everything to the hilt, which means I learn a lot and (try to) do things properly. But the research phase takes an age and the doing is delayed.

But then I went and done the complete opposite. I'm restoring some old retro G-Plan furniture and similar to sell, and the plan was just to clean it up. But it still looked a bit dull afterwards. I then came by a small bottle of Rowney Purified Linseed Oil; I've no idea where it came from! Instead of checking what it was, I just slapped a bit on. It looked good, so I've gone ahead and covered all the furniture in the stuff. Working in the reverse of my usual fashion I then checked out what this stuff is and found that it is used by artists to "reduce the consistency of oil colour and slow down the drying time of your painting".

So have I done something stupid? Or have I accidentally come across a nice finishing oil that hopefully dries quickly and leave a lovely soft sheen while bringing up the grain beautifully?

Cheers

Linseed oil is a nice finish, takes a while to cure so wipe on and remove any excess. I use it on tool handles and after years of giving them a top up every now and then they have a really nice finish on them. If you can cope with the drying time, and the yellowing of pale woods, linseed oil is great

Linseed oil is a nice finish, takes a while to cure so wipe on and remove any excess. I use it on tool handles and after years of giving them a top up every now and then they have a really nice finish on them. If you can cope with the drying time, and the yellowing of pale woods, linseed oil is great