Rob Cosman DVD's and his dovetail saw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

russ_1380

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I was researching hand joinery techniques and came across Rob Cosman's Dvds.

He seems to be the guru of dovetails and hand joinery. In his trailer he seems to come across as very interesting and above all a good 'teacher'.

Before I buy a dvd I was just wondering if anyone has seen these videos and if so, what was your opinion of it? Was it worth the money?

In my opinion what I learn from it will outweigh the cost of the dvd, but as I'm a beginner to woodworking I'd like some opinions from people who have seen it.

He also does videos for planing and mortice and tenons although buying all thee dvds would be too pricey for me, I'm mainly interested in the dovetail one.

Also he markets his own dovetail saw; it has two different tpi on a single saw blade. I believe the idea is to start the cut with the finer teeth and then finish the cut with the courser teeth. At over £200 it does seem hellish expensive. Has anyone bought the saw? What do you think to it?

Thanks again

Russ

Do you subscribe to Tesco DVD rental or LoveFilm DVD Rental (both the same really). If so you will find some of Rob's DVDs on there. I am on my second from there, seem OK so far but I personally don't have much to rate them against.

HI Russ,
I`ve got some of his dvds and I think the dovetailing ones are the best, also the ones on making and fitting drawers and mortice and tenons are very good. The ones on hand planing and sharpening are ok but a better choice for these in my opinion are the David Charlesworth ones, Cosman only copied his ideas.