Riving knife alignment

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaustin

Reaction score
Hi
I have just bought my first table saw - a Ryobi ETS-1525. I have started setting it up and have a question regarding the riving knife: should it be perfectly aligned with the blade? Mine is very slightly off to the right. Not a huge amount - probably less than 1mm - but visible to the naked eye. If I run a piece of wood tightly down the right hand side of the blade it hits the knife edge.
Unfortunately the design makes it impossible (I think) to move it to the left by adding a washer, for instance.
Could/should I try adding a washer to the blade mounting in order to move the blade to the right to be more in line with the knife?
Perhaps I should, very carefully, run a test piece through it to see if it snags?
Any advice (to a complete beginner) would be appreciated.
Thanks
Jason

Welcome to the forum Jason. Remove the cover around the blade and check if the knife is aligned at the clamping point. If it is you may be able to gently push bend the knife to align. It should not stick out either side of the blade.

Les

Please dont add a washer to the cutting blade . The riving knife is the problem and if not send the machine back . have you checked that the angle of the saw is on zero ? Not just as far as it will go , there should be a mark to where it should be at zero .

The design may not permit a washer but it might permit a piece of paper, card or plastic to be slipped between the knife and its mount to act as a shim.

Welcome, Jason.

I have one of these as well. The riving knife is just a bit of pressed steel. Mine was also out slightly and on inspection it was bent slightly. Rather than send it back, I straightened it myself.