Rexon Slide Mitre Saw SM2500

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveB43

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi All,
I'd very much appreciate help, opinion and advice from you all re the best way to go about setting up a mitre saw to cut square. I did read some advice that said you need to start with a long plank that you know is square, then take repeated cuts, adjusting the fence each time until you have a square cut. i did that and unfortunately ran out of wood (if you want to know how to turn 8 ft of wood into very small bits, ask, I'm now an expert.... ](*,) )

I checked the fence to blade with a square, that I also know is square and on both sides. The best I could get with the above method was 3mm out over a cut of 150mm. I haven't changed the supplied Rexon blade over from the supplied 80t multi material blade so will start there. Is there any advice anyone has re dismantling the whole thing and rebuilding to try and improve the 0 degree accuracy or is 3mm over 150mm probably about the best I'd get with this saw.

any advice very warmly welcomed..(or it's ebay...)

Cheers!

Hi Steve.

Is your machine somewhat similar in style to this....

sm2150a.gif

or this...

scm12ra.gif

If yes, it may be the smaller version of the Scheppach I am ressurecting (also sold as Rexon). It is certainly capable of being much more accurate than 3mm over 150mm!

daba7ef0dbc8e8584f7ae2290adefe6c_big.jpg

Is there any slack in the mitre angle adjustment.... ie... are the 'positive stops' positive? Does the table stop in a definate position, or is there any play?

Mine was terrible. Although it stopped, there was still a couple of mm movement, meaning accuracy was a no-no.