Retrospective Mirror RAID

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Argee

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I'm fairly computer-literate, but I've never used a RAID array before. After some recent hardware failures (everything recovered, thank goodness!), I've upgraded my system and I'm now running XP Pro on a SATA drive, with one IDE still in the system. This IDE is the same age as the recent failure, so I'm waiting for a second (identical) SATA drive to arrive, then I intend to replace the IDE with the new SATA and set up a mirror RAID with it.

My question is - can I do this retrospectively, that is, without a complete re-format of the existing SATA? I've currently got the 160Gb SATA partitioned into a 10Gb C: drive (operating system only), with three 50Gb partitions (D: E: and F: - programmes, data and drive images).

My idea is to format the new drive identically, then have it mirror the currently-installed one. When I installed the current SATA, I also installed a RAID manager, so I'm wondering whether this will deal with the setup and mirroring for me. The new motherboard manual only gives examples of new installations.

Any ideas? TIA

Ray.

Ray

Not too much experience with mirror RAID but if the RAID manager is any good then I would have hoped that it should cope..since what would it do if one of your mirror disks died?

As I say, I'm only usewd to hot-swappable drives...when it dies, whack another one in and leave the RAID s/w to sort things out.

Alternatively you could try posting or searching on experts exchange but you'll need to give a bit more info such as which RAID software you are using.

Have you tried Googling?