Retraining and potential apprenticeship at 30?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tacopowell

Reaction score
I left school at 16, spending the following two years gaining NVQ's in Cabinet making,
At the time I was more interested in getting wasted and staring at girls,
I got my qualifications but never pursued a career in the area, Instead deciding that working at ToysRus would be more beneficial (Don't),
Ever since I've worked in different jobs, all non skilled, Photo lab, Printers and currently as a learning disability support worker,
The latter I've been doing for around 4 years now and in that time I've seen massive changes in the care system,
Changes based on budgets been slashed in almost all aspects of the job, Meaning it's very hard to do my job in supporting people to fulfill their lives, there is also little to no prospects in this job.

I'm 31 next month and I'm now fully aware that a misspent youth has had it's toll on me but I'm extremely keen to make big changes in my life so that I can provide for potential family (12 months of trying).

I have the natural ability to build things, Particularly using wood and although I've lost almost all the knowledge and techniques I learnt at college,
I know I can still learn and still build things, Current project been a Dog shed using reclaimed pallet wood which is looking pretty good.

A quick scan for local courses gives me a few choices, all located at the same college;
*Basic Carpentry and Joinery Skills
*Bench Joinery (Level 2)
*Apprenticeship in Bench Joinery (Level 2)

My question for anyone who works in the industry or anyone who has experience in been an apprentice as an adult is;

Will my age work against me in finding a position/job or will my maturity, desire and commitment help in convincing potential employers I'm the man for the job?