restoring softwood window frames best stained finish?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt@

Established Member
Reaction score
I've little knowledge of modern exterior finishes and theres so many products out there its confusing so hoping someone can help :)

I have some softwood window frame in situ, finished quite badly in the past with some sort of dark stained varnish stuff. Its keyed on the wood well but has rubbed off in places to bare wood in other words a patchy finish. I need to refinish these frames so they look presentable.

Dont want to strip them back and am happy to brush on a maximum of two coats of something after a cursory hand sanding - so questions are

1. what stained exterior finish is best to cover patchiness in 2 coats?
2. what product is most forgiving in putting on top of a patchy existing finish.

not too bothered aboiut price

what I dont want to is end up spending £20 on sample tins to find soemthing that works..

thanks in advance...

The problem you've got here is that any quality exterior finish is generally microporous and needs to deeply penetrate the timber. By not sanding off the old finish you won't be giving any new finish a chance to penetrate and therefore it's lifespan will be greatly reduced. Also there's no guarantee of compatability with one product on top of another. For the best result I'd recommend removing the old finish and applying a stained microporous finish such as Butinox 1.

Hope this helps.

thanks for replies. Re. Sadolin supercoat, do you mean superdec? I was actually in a Crown centre today going right through their products. Superdec would have been good but the colours are not very good if you want to replicate a wood colour and you cant really tell until you've spent £20 on a tin.

Thanks Woodfinishman, never heard of Butinox - seems similar to sadolin translucent varnish or is it better?