Restoring/Reconditioning A Chest of Draws

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

19ninety

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I recently bought a old (Georgian?) chest of draws. They are in ok condition for the age but do need a little work to make them properly functional again.
The runners (excuse the terminology, I'm no expert :) ) on the bottoms of the draws are badly worn or missing and the shelves between the draws have dropped, where the braces have fallen off over the years, and are badly bowed and broken.
I've attached a couple of photos below.
Just wondering what is the best type wood to use to replace the runners and shelves? I've got a couple of lengths of "Premium Timberboard" (Purchased for next to nothing when Focus closed down) but I think that it will be too soft. I'm not looking to make this as new, I love it for its looks, its a really beautiful bit of furniture that I want to make usable and reliable.

Any advice/tips etc welcome.

Thanks,

Greg

Attachments

• P1020538s.jpg
    P1020538s.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 402
  • P1020543s.jpg
    P1020543s.jpg
    75.3 KB · Views: 402
  • P1020544s.jpg
    P1020544s.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 402
  • P1020411s.jpg
    P1020411s.jpg
    86.9 KB · Views: 400
Beech or ash are both suitable and low cost. If you don't have the machinery to cut/plane the small sections you need then maybe a member locally would be prepared to help if you were to put your location into your profile.
If you are near Southampton, then I expect I could find and prepare suitable offcuts of either timber.

Bob

Is it pine? Looks like it, in which case redwood is fine for all the repairs.