• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Remote control plug

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

mock

Established Member
Joined
25 Jun 2014
Messages
1,334
Reaction score
4
Location
WALES, Nr Neath
My remote plugs will not work on my AXMINSTER CRAFT AC118CE CYCLONE DUST EXTRACTOR are there cheap remote plugs that will run my 1.5kW (2hp) motor? Mock
 

Bm101

Lean into the Curve
Joined
19 Aug 2015
Messages
4,138
Reaction score
532
Location
Herts.
Well how's your luck. Just going to build a sound deadening box for my vac and fit a dust deppidy contraption today. I cut the mdf yesterday and was looking at the switch and wondering about extending it to the box and lookie here!
Problem solved. Thanks Mock. Thanks Doug and Phil.
Result!
 

mock

Established Member
Joined
25 Jun 2014
Messages
1,334
Reaction score
4
Location
WALES, Nr Neath
Doug my Dewenwils will not work with my axi I have the one with the chocolate bar remotes I don't know if they are different in any way. Phil the ones you recommended are out of stock so hopefully ill have more recommendations thanks, Guys Mock
 

Attachments

harryc

Established Member
Joined
27 Apr 2007
Messages
341
Reaction score
41
I assume these remote plugs won’t work with a NVR switch?
 

Doug71

Established Member
Joined
28 Aug 2016
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
433
Location
Yorkshire
I was just about to ask if that extractor had a NVR as you will need to mess with the extractor wiring to make a remote switch work.
 

Ged S

Established Member
Joined
7 Jan 2013
Messages
22
Reaction score
8
Location
Nantwich
I’ve used the Byron Home Easy sockets for years. They do a 3kw model (HE330). Never had any problems.
 

Spectric

Established Member
Joined
19 Feb 2015
Messages
1,340
Reaction score
528
Location
North Cumbria
Try this,


or something like a current sensing relay, you need to use it to drive another relay to handle your current

 

cowtown_eric

Established Member
Joined
4 May 2006
Messages
44
Reaction score
22
Location
Calgary Alberta Canada
I had a couple of these in the shop on dust collection systems, and 3 or 4 times over 5 years I would arrive in the shop in the am and find one or other running. Obviously some kind of interference, but never did figure it out.

eric
 

Robbo60

Established Member
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
327
Reaction score
130
Location
Notts
I just got one of these Dewenwils from Amazon to run a 2kW extractor, seems to work okay. I went for the one with a big switch, it's just for the extractor on my panel saw so I fixed it to the wall next to my saw, I always end up losing the small remotes.

So it plugs into existing socket and the appliance plugs into it? Then use the remote to switch on/off?
 

Doug71

Established Member
Joined
28 Aug 2016
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
433
Location
Yorkshire
So it plugs into existing socket and the appliance plugs into it? Then use the remote to switch on/off?
Yes that is how it works. You need to leave the appliance turned on hence why they don't work with things that have an NVR switch.

If you stick with one brand they can often be programmed so that one remote works maybe 3 sockets or different remotes work the same socket.

I have heard one or two reports of people coming in to their workshop to find something running which has mysteriously turned on but I always unplug everything when I leave.
 

Robbo60

Established Member
Joined
20 Aug 2020
Messages
327
Reaction score
130
Location
Notts
Yes that is how it works. You need to leave the appliance turned on hence why they don't work with things that have an NVR switch.

If you stick with one brand they can often be programmed so that one remote works maybe 3 sockets or different remotes work the same socket.

I have heard one or two reports of people coming in to their workshop to find something running which has mysteriously turned on but I always unplug everything when I leave.
Thanks Doug. I can't think of anything else apart from Vac I'd use one for? All other stuff has easy access switches. I'm planning on building a small housing outside for the vac to reduce noise. What material would you recommend?
 

Peterm1000

Established Member
Joined
18 Dec 2018
Messages
204
Reaction score
40
Location
Godalming
Those RF plugs are old technology. I use the TP-Link Tapo P100 via my Alexa Echo Dot - "Alexa, turn on the extractor". No need for a remote control and nothing to be interfered with. I also have a schedule that turns off everything in the workshop every hour in case I forget to turn something off. I had those remote sockets before and would never go back.
 

mr rusty

Established Member
Joined
8 Jul 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
29
Location
chorley
I use the TP-Link Tapo P100 via my Alexa Echo Dot - "Alexa, turn on the extractor"
An alexa in the workshop is handy for radio. This is a good idea as well - I already have several TP-Link adapters, but not on my vac at the moment. A couple of years ago I knife and forked a little device out of the guts of the remote controller for one of these remote plugs, a sound activated switch and a gubbins to turn a constant switch signal to a momentary pulse. This sound-activates my vac from whichever tool I place my device near. Tool running - vac on, tool off, vac off. - triggered by noise level. Not very sophisticated but works well enough.
 

Britman

Chip of the old block
UKW Supporter
Joined
25 Dec 2020
Messages
94
Reaction score
61
Location
UK
An alexa in the workshop is handy for radio. This is a good idea as well - I already have several TP-Link adapters, but not on my vac at the moment. A couple of years ago I knife and forked a little device out of the guts of the remote controller for one of these remote plugs, a sound activated switch and a gubbins to turn a constant switch signal to a momentary pulse. This sound-activates my vac from whichever tool I place my device near. Tool running - vac on, tool off, vac off. - triggered by noise level. Not very sophisticated but works well enough.
That sound like a product that needs to exist.
 
Top