Refinishing help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Madaseyeh

Reaction score
Hey all, new here and to restoring, this is actually my first project, I have two units here I stripped one and sanded one yesterday, the one I sanded I varnished yesterday but did not get the look I was going for,
IMG20210331102218.jpg

IMG20210331102224.jpg

As you can see it's too dark and you can not see the grain or the boarder any more, I used Dulux varnish.
IMG20210331102255.jpg

I have another piece here that has been stripped and sanded,
IMG20210331102049.jpg
IMG20210331102030.jpg

So my question is how do I get the top to match the rest of the cabinet where I can see the grains and patterns and get the sheen look, I'm guessing I used the wrong varnish on the first unit, any help will be much appreciated, and as I said I'm new and this is my first project so please go easy thank you.

Looking at the image of the varnish - it's likely to be one that contains a stain/pigment; intended to darken the substrate.

A clear varnish would likely give you the tone you want, but for that sort of cabinet I'd be considering shellac. You can buy it ready mixed, but I find buying flakes and methylated spirits and mixing your own gives a better product. Shellac does dry very quickly though, so it takes a bit of practice to brush a large flat area smooth.

Alternatively you could look into French Polishing. I have done some (a very long time ago) but wouldn't feel confident trying to give advice on the technique.

Is it not dark enough? I can’t really tell what’s wrong from the picture