Record PT107

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spectric

Staff member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all

Just thought I would share my experiences on the subject of planer/thicknessers. If I had the space and still had three phase then it would have been so simple, a nice old fashioned iron beast from the days when machinery was made to last and to high standards but not to be as I moved North and left all behind. Now like so many I was faced with a lot of rebadged lightweight machinery or the more expensive stuff that would cost as much as an iron beast but not built as good. So being an engineer I took the long winded logical approach and did all my homework only to go round in circles for some time as I tried to get some finalist, which would have been Jet had they still been around or the Startrite SD31 because of the easy table lift. Dismissed the SD31 due to limatations in space and finaly went with a Record PT107 mainly because the 5 year warranty and it seemed reasonably well built when compared to others in the tin can line up from somewhere in Asia.