Reasonably priced beginner lathes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Im new to this woodturning malarkey and bought myself a Clarke CWL6B...and I've already realised that its not much good :cry:
Can anyone recommend a lathe for under £200 that is a bit "beefier" and can take a good range of chucks etc?
Thanks.

I bought the Axminster Perform CCBL at their show.It takes their own range of chucks which have plenty of extra fittings. I had the same lathe as you but the Perform is far better. My main criticism is the tool rest, it was rough at first but I ground it smooth. I also bought the Perform tool set, if you are using cheap chisels you should buy better ones before you buy a new lathe,you may find you can manage with the Clarke.

Hi Roohster,

I've got a Delta F46-717 lathe, it's a heavy cast iron based job which helps dampen vibration very well, they cost about £300 new, the bed and motor arrangement looks very similar to the Perform lathes from axminster. because the headstock swivels round it's useful for the larger projects, you're not limited to a 12" diameter say.. I was given a CWL6B for christmas 2 years ago and then i got bitten by the bug and immediately found i wanted a more substantial lathe.. so i went shopping.
My father in law has the 'Ferm' lathe from screwfix for about £130 and he gets on very well with it but it is mounted on a really beefy stand he made himself.
As an aside have you snapped all the belts that came with the lathe yet? when i phoned to get replacements i was told by clarke that they do two belts - the funny pale beige things and the more robust black belts, they did last about 5 times longer i found, worth the extra bit of money.

Jim

Hi Roohster,
I too am new to turning and have been asking similar questions ref lathe purchases.